No. When a demand is accepted under the provision of the right to be forgotten, the content is not deleted from the internet. It continues to be accessible but is no longer visible in the results page on search engines through a search with the specific name of the applicant
The content remains on the internet servers
A request under the provision of the “right to be forgotten” only concerns the search engine that was contacted (most often Google) and has no effect on the content itself: that cannot be changed and is always accessible at the same address (url). Therefore it is always accessible by clicking on a link that goes directly to the content, or by searching via the search tool on the site in question, or through a different search engine.
The content is cleared for a specific demand
When a search engine is granting an application under the provision of the right to be forgotten, the link is not completely removed from the search engine. The relevant link is always displayed, except when someone searches the specific name of the person who was addressed by the request.
In the case of Google, the content remains visible on its non-European versions
Google’s form for the right to be forgotten was created in reaction to a decision by the Court of Justice of the European Union, whose sphere of influence does not extend past the borders of the EU. For example, a result will be withdrawn from Google.fr, Google.co.uk, Google.it, and Google.pl (Member States) but not on Google.com or Google.ru (non-members).
A concrete case for a better understanding of the result of a request under the right to be forgotten
Consider the case of an article titled “Messieurs François Pignon et Juste Leblanc : une histoire de cons” (Misters François Pignon and Juste Leblanc: a story of dumbasses) drawn up by a journalist for the newspaper Le Journal in 1998. Mr. Pignon, somewhat embarrassed by this article, submitted a request to Google under the provision of the right to be forgotten and it was accepted.
Last update: 2014-11-13